HOME > TECH GUIDE > How to send disappearing photos and videos on WhatsApp

How to send disappearing photos and videos on WhatsApp

How to send disappearing photos and videos on WhatsApp, Tech Guide on A3 Techworld.WhatsApp now lets you share disappearing photos and videos that your contacts can view once only.

With the new WhatsApp update, you can send photos and videos on WhatsApp that can be opened and viewed just once.

To recall, WhatsApp already has a disappearing messages feature that deletes messages once viewed but that feature has a time limit of 7 days, which can be long for some people.

WhatsApp has rolled out to beta testers a new feature that brings its messaging app into line with other social apps: the ability to send a photo or video that the recipient can view only once before it self-destructs.

The View Once feature is currently available only to beta testers running WhatsApp beta for Android version 2.21.14.3.

Here is how you can use the disappearing feature for photos and videos on WhatsApp:

  1. First of all update your WhatsApp beta app.
  2. Then open that WhatsApp chat in which you want to send view once photos and videos.
  3. Now add the media by tapping on the attachment button.
  4. You will see a new “circled 1” next to add a caption bar.
  5. Tap on this new button and the feature will be activated.
  6. On the next page, you will see the “This media is set to view once” message, tap on OK to confirm.

About the disappearing media feature on WhatsApp

In the pop-up that appears when you first use View Once, you are told that it is there to improve privacy, but warned that the recipient can still take a screenshot or recording.

  • Photos and videos that are set to view once will disappear after the recipient closes it.
  • This media will also not be visible through the notification panel and there will be only a circled one in the chat until the recipient opens it.
  • This feature will work even if the recipient’s WhatsApp doesn’t support it yet and they will be able to see the media only once after updating their app to the latest version.
  • You should also note that this feature will not protect against screenshots or screen recording and you won’t even get a notification if someone captures it.
  • If you disable read receipts on your app, the recipient will still see if you have opened their media set to view once, but you cannot see if they have opened yours.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.