Skip to content
HOME >> TECH GUIDE >> How to disable and delete your Google location history

How to disable and delete your Google location history

How to disable and delete your Google location history on Google maps to increase your privacy. If you’ve ever enabled Google’s Location History feature for your devices, this is how to see what it has recorded, delete that record and disable future tracking.

It’s no secret that Google tracks your every move. The Google Maps app, by default, makes records of all the places you’ve ever been with your smartphone. Google Maps location history — also known as ‘Google Maps timeline’ — is a feature in your Google account where the places you go are saved. And permanently disabling and deleting location history on Google Maps can increase your privacy.

Location History and Location Reporting as used by both Google apps – notably maps and photos – and third-party advertisers to provide you with local insights, travel time estimates, location-tagged photos, and personalized search results and adverts.

Because all of these features are actually useful, there’s a good chance that you have it enabled, especially as previous versions of Android weren’t always very good at explaining what was being activated and what data was being stored.

Updates to the service in 2018 and 2020 disabled Location History by default and enabled auto-deletion of locations after 18 months for active accounts. Here’s how to find out if Google is keeping track of your location and change those settings if you need to.

How to disable and delete your Google location history in 2022:

  1. Open your Google Activity page
  2. To disable Location History, click Turn off
  3. Click Pause
  4. Click OK
  5. See where you’ve been
  6. Read or skip the explainer
  7. Check out your timeline
  8. Click the gear icon
  9. Delete Location History
  10. Confirm that you understand
  11. Click Delete Location History
  12. Click OK
  13. Return to your activity page

Delete Location History On Your Google Maps

  1. Open Google Maps.
  2. Click on your profile picture.
  3. Choose the option Your Timeline.
  4. Open additional options (three dots icon) and click on Settings and privacy.
  5. Scroll down to “Delete All Location History.”

Additionally, Google allows you to delete the location history of a specific time period by choosing the option “Delete Location History range”. Here you have to enter a “Start date” and “End date” to delete location history in that time period.

Instead of manually deleting the location history on Google maps, there is also an option to automate the process, where you can auto-delete location history older than 3, 18, and 36 months.

How To Disable Google Location History Permanently

Of course, there’s no point in deleting your location history on Google Maps if you don’t stop its activity at all — because Google continues to record the places you’re in. You can fix this issue by disabling the location history option in your Google account.

  1. In Google Maps, click on your profile picture.
  2. Click “Your data on Maps” to open location-related privacy options in your Google account.
  3. Tap the “Location History” section to open Activity controls.
  4. In Activity controls, select “Turn off” for pausing location history.

Once you’ve done this, Location History will stop its activity and will no longer record the places you go. This means that some sections of Google Maps, such as the timeline, which summarizes your recent visits and vacations, won’t display personalized information about your recent locations.

FAQ Google location history

How do I save my location data before deleting it?

Select Download a copy of all your data from the gear icon menu on the location timeline map or go directly to https://takeout.google.com/ – remember to deselect everything else, or you’ll be looking at a very large download!

How to re-enable Google Location History?

If you want Google to keep a record of where you’ve been, go to https://myactivity.google.com/ and click the “Turn on” button under Location History.

How do I enable auto-deletion?

Newer Google accounts are configured to auto-delete location history older than 18 months by default – this may not be the case if you’ve previously manually configured it or have an older account to which different settings were applied. At https://myactivity.google.com/, you’ll see a section marked “Auto-delete”.

Click the > arrow next to “Choose an auto-delete option”. On the following pop-up, click the radio button labeled “Auto-delete activity older than”. The default is 18 months. Click the pull-down to see and select other options. Click next and then confirm that you want any data older than your specified timeframe to be deleted.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.