Apple Lockdown Mode Explained (2022) – What Is Lockdown Mode On iPhone And How Does It Work on iOS 16.
Apple announced a new Lockdown Mode for its upcoming iOS 16, iPad with iOS 16, and macOS Ventura software that would strengthen the privacy of the users. The company has always pressed for user security and privacy with its features and functions. (Similar post: The Best iPhone 13 Tips And Tricks)
When Lockdown Mode arrives, you will need to turn it on to actually enable it. It is not on by default. But it’s also not something everyone will need to use most days. Here’s everything you need to know about Lockdown Mode, including how to enable it, what it does, and when you should use it. (Similar post: How To Tell If An iPhone Is Charging While It’s Off)
This article is a guide on everything you need to know about the Apple Lockdown Mode. We delve into the definition, release date, how lockdown mode works, and what services you will miss when you turn on the Lockdown Mode. (Similar post: How To Block Websites In Safari On Any iPhone Or Apple Device)
What is Apple Lockdown Mode?
Lockdown Mode is a new security setting that will arrive later this year with iOS 16, iPadOS 16, and macOS Ventura. According to Apple, Lockdown Mode is an “extreme, optional protection” feature for users who face “grave, targeted threats” to their digital security. (Think: Journalists, activists, politicians, and celebrities.) When it becomes available and is enabled on your iPhone, iPad, or Mac, Lockdown Mode will change various security settings and block some communications features, making it harder for someone to gain access or control of your device.
How does Lockdown Mode work?
When enabled in settings, Lockdown Mode will alter how your phone works in order to prevent targeted attacks that rely on web-based technologies, social engineering, and wired hacking.
Here are a few of the changes you will notice when Lockdown Mode is turned on:
- Most message attachments are blocked, and some features will not be unavailable.
- Incoming FaceTime calls from people you have not previously called will be blocked.
- Some web technologies and browsing features will be blocked.
- Shared albums will be removed from Photos, and new invitations will be blocked.
- Wired connections with another device while your iPhone is locked will be blocked.
- Incoming invitations from people you have not previously invited will be blocked.
- Configuration profiles – such as profiles for school or work – cannot be installed.
How to turn on Lockdown Mode (2022)
When Lockdown Mode becomes available to you, simply dive into the Settings app on your iPhone, iPad, or Mac to enable it. Follow these steps:
- Open Settings.
- Navigate to Privacy and Security.
- Select Lockdown Mode.
- Select Turn On Lockdown Mode
- Your device will then restart to enable Lockdown Mode.
To turn off Lockdown Mode, navigate back to settings and toggle it off. Easy!
When should you use Lockdown Mode?
Lockdown Mode is not for most people in everyday situations. It’s designed to fight advanced hacking and targeted spyware. These attacks, such as the NSO Group’s Pegasus, happen to a small group of people. Pegasus, for instance, was used to spy on activists, politicians, and journalists. But Apple said it’s spotted similar attacks on users in over 150 countries during the past eight months. If you are a notable person or in a situation where you feel vulnerable or susceptible to attacks, then Lockdown Mode is for you. Otherwise, you’ll likely never need it.
To sum up, Lockdown Mode is a feature that protects your device from unauthorized access. It’s not perfect, and it comes with some tradeoffs in daily iPhone experience or convenience. However, as long as it gets the job done, you should have it running by default, especially if you are a high-risk individual.